Reasons to Earn a Texas Real Estate Broker License

  1. It is the only designation that the general public, your customer, recognizes. Experienced agents and new agents should seek to earn their Broker license as quickly as possible."
  2. You can advertise on your cards and marketing materials, Broker-Associate. Most sales agents get a Broker license but prefer to associate or stay with their firm. They do not get it to open their own firm although they certainly could with a Broker license.
  3. The consumer only recognizes the word, "Broker" and often asks the question of the agent, "are you a Broker?" It doesn't mean they have less confidence in you but it does mean that they recognize that word as being a specialist in the industry.
  4. You want to be a specialist. The law of marketing is if you can't be first in an area, be a specialist in an area.
Steps to a Real Estate Broker License Button

Broker Licensing Requirements

  • You must be an active, licensed, Real Estate Sales Agent for a minimum of 4 years before taking the Texas State Broker exam.
  • You must achieve a total of 3600 experience points in 4 years of the last 5 years
  • The educational requirement for obtaining a Texas Broker license is a total of 900 hours, 270 of those hours must be in core subjects (CE does not count as core).
  • All of your Qualifying Education (core hours), SAE (core hours) and CE (related hours) courses count.
  • Even without a College degree, you may be eligible to receive a number of related hours for relevant course work completed in College. For this reason, it couldn't hurt to submit a college Transcript to TREC along with your application to see if any hours are accepted.
  • Every applicant must have a minimum of 270 Core hours comprised of the QE and SAE courses required of every licensed Sales Agent.

Please Note - TREC will not evaluate for Broker hours needed until the applicant has a Sales Agent license; however, any licensed agent can go to www.trec.texas.gov to check how many hours they have accumulated from all of their approved TREC courses.


Summary of Broker License Education Requirements:

  • 270 Core Hours (QE and SAE)
  • 630 Related Hours (College Degree and CE)

Ready to get started? Visit our Broker Licensing Page to get started!

Things to Remember About Earning a Broker License

  • All Online CE courses are additional hours counted towards related broker hours and all Correspondence courses count as well. They have different approval numbers attached to them.
  • All CE correspondence courses count since their numbers are different every two years. This means that you may have more hours than you thought.
  • All core 30 hour courses (including the courses you took to obtain your Texas Real Estate Sales Agent license and your SAE courses) count towards your Real Estate Broker core hours.
  • You can start working on these courses at any time. And while waiting the four years to take the Broker exam, you can be taking these courses.
  • TREC allows a person to repeat and receive credit for any course after the 2 years have passed since the first time the course was completed.
  • Online and Correspondence are additional delivery methods that will count toward broker credit.