Texas Loan Originator Education FAQ

Find the Answers to Your Loan Originator Education Questions!

We are here to help! Here is a list of the most frequently asked questions about Texas Loan Originator education. If your questions are not listed below, or if you need additional help, please contact us!

Please Note - All of our Loan courses are approved by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) - Provider #1400073

Loan Originator Pre-Licensing Education (PE) Questions

The following questions pertain to Loan Originatro Pre-Licensing Education (PE) and are commonly asked by people who want to earn a Loan Originator license in Texas.

What are the Texas Requirements for Loan Originator?

You must complete the 20-Hour National component as well as the 3-Hour Texas component.

I am a licensed Loan Originator in another state. Do I have to take the 20-Hour National class?

No. If you are an active, licensed Loan Originator in another state, you will just need to complete the Texas 3-Hour TX-SML SAFE: Texas Law and Practice class before taking the state exam.

What is the application fee?

The Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending (TX-SML) Fee Schedule is updated at the beginning of the fiscal year. For the most accurate schedule, please visit the TX-SML website:

What is the exam fee?

The Prometric exam fee is $110.00

I signed up for the online Loan Originator classes. Is there a time limit?

Yes. When you registered online, you selected a time frame. Your courses will need to be completed within that time frame window.

Most Popular Loan Originator License Programs
Choose a Program to Enroll

To purchase a package, choose your preferred delivery method from the appropriate dropdown below. To mix-and-match multiple delivery methods, you can choose the Champions Advantage option.

23-Hour RMLO Texas License Program

$485$515
SAVE $30

Courses Included in this Package:

  • 20-Hour SAFE Comprehensive
  • 3-Hour TX-SML SAFE: Texas Law and Practice
  • National Exam Prep Course

Additional Details:

  • FREE Books / PDFs Included
  • FREE Exam Prep Retakes for 1 Year
  • 23 NMLS Credit Hours
This basic program includes everything you need to apply for a license and prepare for the licensing exam.

Choose a Delivery Method

Please select a delivery method
above and try again.

23-Hour RMLO Texas License Essential Skills Program

$629$694
SAVE $65

Courses Included in this Package:

  • 20-Hour SAFE Comprehensive
  • 3-Hour TX-SML SAFE: Texas Law and Practice
  • National Exam Prep Course
  • Essential Mortgage Skills
  • How to Market Yourself

Additional Details:

  • FREE Books / PDFs Included
  • FREE Exam Prep Retakes for 1 Year
  • 23 NMLS Credit Hours
This program includes RMLO Development courses to better prepare you for a career in Loan Origination.

Choose a Delivery Method

Please select a delivery method
above and try again.

23-Hour RMLO Texas License Career Success Program

$719$839
SAVE $120

Courses Included in this Package:

  • 20-Hour SAFE Comprehensive
  • 3-Hour TX-SML SAFE: Texas Law and Practice
  • National Exam Prep Course
  • Essential Mortgage Skills
  • How to Market Yourself
  • Success Through Business Etiquette

Additional Details:

  • FREE Books / PDFs Included
  • FREE Exam Prep Retakes for 1 Year
  • 23 NMLS Credit Hours
This comprehensive program includes RMLO Development courses to better prepare you for a career in Loan Origination plus our popular Business Etiquette course.

Choose a Delivery Method

Please select a delivery method
above and try again.

Set Your Loan Originator License Education Course Schedule.
Classroom, Online, or in the Virtual Classroom!

Classroom

In this method, students must attend all hours in person. This method provides real estate classes that allow students to interact with instructors and peers. This method is beneficial for students who want to study alongside classmates. Students who thrive in conventional school environments will enjoy this method. Course exams are administered on the last day.

Virtual Classroom

Our ChampionsLive!™ virtual classrooms allow students to attend live classes remotely. In this format, classes will be live streamed via Zoom and students will be required to attend on set dates. This delivery method gives you the chance to ask questions and interact with instructors in real time. Each course has instructional assistants that answer questions during the lecture.

Online Interactive

The immersive Online Interactive™ courses include engaging animations, videos, and activities. The courses can be accessed 24/7 from any mobile or desktop device with a stable internet connection. Chapter quizzes and proctored exams are administered via your student account. These courses do not use textbooks and are best for self-paced learners.

Please Note - This delivery method is only available for all QE, select SAE and various CE courses.

Online (3rd-Party)

These courses are delivered through a third-party completely online without the use of any textbooks. Course material is presented in online modules along with multiple choice quizzes and exams. Students must be able to access the internet to take this course format. This method is ideal for people who need to attend remotely but still prefer a guided learning experience.

Please Note - This Delivery Method is only available for certain loan origination and appraisal courses.

Champions Advantage Logo

Select the "Champions Advantage" option when you enroll and customize your learning experience. This option allows you to choose different delivery methods for each course in the package. Learn More.

Loan Originator Continuing Education (CE) Questions

The following questions pertain to Loan Originatro Pre-Licensing Education (PE) and are commonly asked by people who want to earn a Loan Originator license in Texas.

What is the Texas requirement for Loan Continuing Education?

Every state licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually. Champions offers this course for $135.00

When do I need to renew my license?

Your license expires every year on December 31st. The NMLS Annual Renewal Period begins November 1 and ends December 31 each year.

I just earned my license this year. Do I still have to renew this year?

No. If you completed your 20 hours of Pre-Licensing Education (PE) and were licensed this year, you are NOT required to complete 8 hours of Continuing Education (CE) this year. You are NOT required to take Pre-Licensing (PE) and Continuing Education (CE) courses in the same year.

If you became federally compliant for PE between 2009 - 2017 and were licensed between 2009 - 2018, you are required to complete CE in 2019. If you became compliant for PE in 2019 and were approved for an initial license in 2019 you are NOT required to complete CE in 2019.

Where do I go to renew my license?

How much is it to renew my license?

The Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending Renewal Fees for Fiscal Year 2020 (September 1, 2019 – August 31, 2020):

  • Renewing Mortgage Loan Originator License - $60
  • Reinstating Mortgage Loan Originator License - $90 (Applicable if individual license or registration renewal is filed after 12/31 but prior to 3/1)
  • NMLS annual processing fees- Company $100, Branch $20, Individual - $30

Does Champions offer late CE?

Champions typically offers an 8-Hour Loan Late CE option via Learn Mortgage (Hondros), a third-party online education provider. If there is currently a Late CE option available, there will be a separate course listing on our Loan Originator Contuning Education page.

Helpful Links