Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
About Texas Appraiser Education

You Have Questions about Texas Appraiser Education. We Have Answers.

We are here to help! Below is a list of the most frequently asked questions about Texas Real Estate Appraiser licensing and education. If your questions are not listed below, or if you need additional help, please contact us!

QE Questions

Answers to common questions related to Appraiser Qualifying Education.

CE Questions

Answers to common questions related to Appraiser Continuing Education.

Learn More about our Delivery Method Options

Blended Classroom

A combination of Classroom and Home-Study. For students who learn best in a Classroom environment.

Online

A module based, online option that can be completed on any device with an internet connection and a web browser.

Virtual Classroom

For remote students who want to stream the unparalleled Classroom experience to their home or office.

Champions Advantage

Customize a program to fit your needs by utilizing all of our delivery methods and resources.

Appraiser Qualifying Education (QE) Questions

The following questions pertain to Appraiser Qualifying Education (QE) and are commonly asked by people who want to earn a Residential Appraiser license in Texas.

How do I become an Appraiser Trainee?

Complete 75 hours of Qualifying Education (QE) as well as the 4-Hour Supervisor and Trainee course. All education must be completed within 5 years prior to submitting your trainee application. For more information on becoming an Appraiser trainee, please visit the Trainee page on the TALCB website here:

https://www.talcb.texas.gov/potential-license-holder/appraiser-trainee.

How do I become a Licensed Residential Appraiser?

**Updated May 1, 2018**

In addition to the 79 hours to become a trainee, you must complete an additional 75 hours of qualifying education and 1,000 supervised hours (over a minimum 6-month period) to apply for your license. There are no college education requirements for those seeking a Residential Appraiser License. For more information on becoming a Licensed Appraiser, please visit the TALCB site here:

https://www.talcb.texas.gov/potential-license-holder/licensed-appraiser

How do I become a Certified Residential Appraiser?

**Updated May 1, 2018**

In order to become a Certified Residential Appraiser, you must have completed a total of 200 hours qualifying education. In addition, You must satisfy ONE of the following college education requirement options:

  1. Bachelor's Degree in any field of study.
  2. Associate's Degree in a field of study related to Business Administration, Accounting, Finance, Economics, or Real Estate.
  3. Successful completion of 30 semester hours of college level courses that cover each of the following specified topic areas and hours:
    • English composition (3-Hours)
    • Microeconomics (3-Hours)
    • Macroeconomics (3-Hours)
    • Finance (3-Hours)
    • Algebra, Geometry, or Higher Math (3-Hours)
    • Statistics (3-Hours)
    • Computer Science (3-Hours)
    • Business Law of Real Estate Law (3-Hours)
    • Two elective courses in any of the following topics: Accounting, Geography, Agriculture, Economics, Business Management, or Real Estate (3-Hours each)
  4. Successful completion of at least 30 Hours of College Level Examination Program® (CLEP®)
  5. Any combination of Option 3 and 4 that includes all of the topics identified in Option #3
  6. No college-level education required. This option only applies to appraisers who have held a Licensed Residential credential for a minimum of five (5) years and have no record of any adverse, final, and non-appealable disciplinary action affecting the Licensed Residential Appraiser's legal eligibility to engage in Appraisal practice within the five (5) years immediately preceding the date of application for a Certified Residential Credential.

License applicants must have also completed a minimum of 1,500 hours of experience training under a licensed Certified Appraiser over a minimum of 12 months. For more information on becoming a Certified Residential Appraiser, please visit the TALCB site:

https://www.talcb.texas.gov/potential-license-holder/certified-residential-appraiser

Can I complete classes at the campus?

All of the Appraisal Qualifying Education courses will be completed via Online or Classroom format.

Can Champions help me find an Appraiser Supervisor?

To avoid a conflict of interest, Champions cannot be directly involved in finding appraiser supervisors for students. However, we recommend trying to locate a supervisor prior to enrolling in the course.

For more information on how to find a supervisor, please visit the TALCB website or consider searching the national registry of appraisers on the Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) website to find appraisers who are eligible to supervise trainees.

How much is the TALCB application fee?

Please visit the TALCB fee schedule for more information about application fees: https://www.talcb.texas.gov/agency-information/fee-schedule

Are the class materials included?

Classroom courses require textbooks. You may pick textbooks up from a Champions campus for free, or we can ship them to you for $8.00 per book.

Online classes are module-based and therefore do not require the use of textbooks.

I failed my state/national exam 3 times. What should I do?

In the event that you do not pass the state or national part of your exam after three atempts, TALCB requires that you repeat a 30-Hour core class. If you completed your core classes with Champions, please contact a career counselor for pricing.

Can I mix up the delivery methods for my classes?

Yes, you can choose any available delivery method for the classes you are completing.

Who should I contact for online support?

Online Appraisal classes are completed through our partner, Hondros Learning. For online support, please call 1-866-466-3278 or email support@fastclass.com

How long do I have access to the online course?

You will have access for up to six months from the date of purchase.

Can I print the online materials?

No. The course is module-led so you will not be able to print any course materials.

How will I receive my online certificate?

If you are having your exam proctored at a Champions location, a career counselor will print out your certificate for you once you have passed the exam. If you are having your exam proctored off-campus, you may call 1-800-969-2599 to have your certificate emailed to you.

Please note: Your certificate will not be emailed until a completed proctor form has been received.

Is the online class compatible with all computers?

Hondros Fast class is compatible with PC computers. The courses currently do not support Macintosh platform. For Technical support, please contact 1-866-455-3278

Appraisal License Program Options
Choose a Program to Enroll

The programs listed below include the Qualifying Education (QE) courses required by the TALCB to earn a Texas Real Estate Appraiser Trainee license all the way up to a Certified Residential Appraisal License. The additional education required to upgrade your Trainee license are included in the higher priced programs. Champions does not currently offer a Certified General program.

204-Hour State Certified Residential Appraiser Program Icon
204-Hour State Certified Residential Appraiser Program
$2098 Save $910
This Package Includes:
  • 2020-2021 USPAP
  • Appraisal 1 - 6
  • Residential Report Writing & Case Studies
  • Specialized Residential Appraisal Topics
  • Statistics, Modeling, & Finance
  • Appraising for the Supervisor and Trainee
  • Appraisal Exam Prep (Live Broadcast Only)
  • 204 TREC Credit Hours
  • FREE Printed Books or PDFs (Classroom/Live Only)
Get Started Today
Choose a Delivery Method
154-Hour Licensed Residential Appraiser Program Icon
154-Hour Licensed Residential Appraiser Program
$1529 Save $752
This Package Includes:
  • 2020-2021 USPAP
  • Appraisal 1 - 5
  • Residential Report Writing & Case Studies
  • Appraising for the Supervisor and Trainee
  • Appraisal Exam Prep (Live Broadcast Only)
  • 154 TREC Credit Hours
  • FREE Printed Books or PDFs (Classroom/Live Only)
Get Started Today
Choose a Delivery Method
79-Hour Appraiser Trainee Program Icon
79-Hour Appraiser Trainee Program
$879 Save $197
This Package Includes:
  • 2020-2021 USPAP
  • Appraisal 1 & 2
  • Appraising for the Supervisor and Trainee
  • FREE Printed Books or PDFs (Classroom/Live Only)
Get Started Today
Choose a Delivery Method

Appraiser Continuing Education (CE) Questions

The following questions pertain to Appraiser Continuing Education (CE) and are commonly asked by people who are renewing a Residential Appraiser license.

What are the continuing Education requirements for Texas Appraisers?

Every two years, Appraisers are required to complete 28-hours of Continuing Education (CE) that includes 7-hours of USPAP Update. We offer these courses in our Live Broadcast and Online formats (Online courses are offered via Hondros Learning). These renewal classes are available for purchase individually or together in an all inclusive CE program.

Please Note: The USPAP Update courses must be completed at a campus or online.

For more information, please visit our Appraisal CE Page - Learn More


CE requirements vary by state. If you are not licensed in Texas, please visit our national landing page and choose your state to Learn More.

Does Champions submit my CE certificates?

Champions does not submit Appraisal CE certificates.

What is the renewal fee?

Please visit the TALCB fee schedule for more information about renewal fees: https://www.talcb.texas.gov/agency-information/fee-schedule

For additional states, please visit our National page and choose your State for more information.

How soon can I pay my renewal fees?

Licensees will receive a notice of renewal 90 days before their license expires. You may pay your renewal fee upon receipt of this letter.

Where do I renew my license?

You may renew your license on the TALCB website.

What happens if I fail to pay my renewal on time?

Any license that is not renewed at the end of the license period will be considered late, and may move to expired status. The license may subsequently be renewed only if the licensee meets the other qualifications specified by state rules.

How often does a licensee renew their license?

A licensee will renew their license every two years.

Can hours be taken anytime?

Yes. However, a course may not be repeated for credit within a two-year period.

Are the class materials included?

Classroom courses require textbooks. You may pick textbooks up from a Champions campus for free, or we can ship them to you for $8.00 per book.

Online classes are module-based and therefore do not require the use of textbooks.

Who should I contact for online support?

Online Appraisal classes are completed through our partner, Hondros Learning. For online support, please call 1-866-466-3278 or email support@fastclass.com

How long do I have access to the online course?

You will have access for up to six months from the date of purchase.

Can I print the online materials?

No. The course is module-led so you will not be able to print any course materials.

How will I receive my online certificate?

If you are having your exam proctored at a Champions location, a career counselor will print out your certificate for you once you have passes the exam. If you are having your exam proctored off-campus, you may call 1-800-969-2599 to have your certificate emailed to you.

Please note: Your certificate will not be emailed until a completed proctor form has been received.

Is the online class compatible with all computers?

Hondros Fast class is compatible with PC computers. The courses currently do not support Macintosh platform. For Technical support, please contact 1-866-455-3278

Appraisal License Renewal Program Options
Choose a Program to Enroll

The following programs include everything you will need to renew your Texas Real Estate Appraiser License in a convenient online or Live Broadcast format. If you are in need of a set of courses that can be completed from the comfort of your home or office, either of the programs listed below will fit the bill.

Please Note - The 7-Hour USPAP class will need to be completed in a classroom or online format. Champions has seven locations across the state of Texas. Click "Find a Campus" to learn more about our locations.

28-Hour Renewal Program (Classroom / Live) Icon
28-Hour Renewal Program (Classroom / Live)
$459
This Package Includes:
  • Day 1: National USPAP Update
  • Day 2: Considerations for Green Home Appraisals
  • Day 3 & 4: Residential Site Valuation & Cost Approach
  • 28 Credit Hours
  • FREE Printed Books
Get Started Today
Choose a Delivery Method
28-Hour CE Renewal Program (Online) Icon
28-Hour CE Renewal Program (Online)
$459
This Package Includes:
  • 2020-2021 7-Hour Equivalent USPAP Update Course
  • Appraising Small Residential Income Properties
  • Mortgages, Appraisers, and Foreclosures
  • Income Approach Review
  • 28 Credit Hours
Get Started Today
Choose a Delivery Method

Helpful Links

Home Inspection Class Schedule

Download our current Home Inspection class schedule.

Find a Campus

Important contact information for campus location.

Delivery Methods

Everything you need to know about our delivery method options!

Important TREC Notices

Important rules and notices from TREC.

Blended Classroom

A combination of Classroom and Home-Study. For students who learn best in a Classroom environment.

Online

A module based, online option that can be completed on any device with an internet connection and a web browser.

Virtual Classroom

For remote students who want to stream the unparalleled Classroom experience to their home or office.

Champions Advantage

Customize a program to fit your needs by utilizing all of our delivery methods and resources.