Frequently Asked Questions
Welcome to Champions School of Real Estate! Stay current with the latest Florida Real Estate trends, the real estate market, and real estate laws with our top-of-the-line MCE online courses. Make sure you know how the industry is changing, what you need to do to stay current, and satisfy your MCE requirement today!
Licensees who maintain active or inactive licenses are required to complete continuing education.
Non-residents must take the Florida specific classes each license term, regardless of the education they’ve had in their home state. The core law class contains Florida Real Estate License laws, commission rules and agency law; and provides an introduction to other state laws, federal laws, and taxes affecting Real Estate.
Education Required to Return to Active Status
If you hold an involuntarily inactive license, you should complete the 28 hour reactivation education within two years of the first day you failed to hold a valid and active license. After the second year, the broker’s or sales associate’s right to reactivate automatically expires.
Question: How do I access the FREC website?
Answer: Go to http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/re/frec.html.
Question: Is the 14-hour course one textbook?
Answer: Yes – It includes the required 3-hours in Core Law subjects AND 11 hours in specialty courses.
Question: What will it cost me to ship the 14-hour Course Textbook?
Question: Can I just download the 14-hour textbook(s)?
Answer: Yes - the 14-hour textbook is available as a downloadble PDF.
Question: Can a student just download the 28-hour Reactivation course textbooks?
Answer: No - the books for the 28-hour Reactivation course can only be shipped for $7.
Question: What will I receive for materials at the time of enrollment?
Answer: You can chose to download the book or have the 14 hour Book mailed for $7 shipping and handling.
For the 28 hour, you will be mailed the Florida Real Estate Principles, Practices & Law textbook and student instructions. Books are kept in stock at the Plano campus.
Question: What if I sign up at 10:00 PM on the day before my license expires and then complete the homework and final exam by 11:59PM? Will my license be considered renewed timely?
Answer: Requirements for renewal are due no later than midnight Eastern Standard Time of the expiration date (March 31st or September 30th)
- If the expiration date falls on a holiday or weekend, the renewal is extended to the next business day midnight Eastern Standard Time.
- Champions will have 30 days to post the education to the FREC secure portal or will post the day before the license is due to expire, whichever comes first.
Question: Where can I view my license status?
Answer: To view your status, visit our website at www.myfloridalicense.com click on “Verify a license” or click on “Renew Your License” to access your online account.
Question: Does a Current/Inactive Real Estate Licensee have to comply with renewal requirements?
Answer: A licensee is required to complete renewal requirements whether they are Current/Active or Current/Inactive.
- Renewal requirements consist of two components: education and fees - both must be completed to receive a Current/Active or Current/Inactive license.
Question: How often does a licensee renew their license and when is the deadline to complete CE credit?
Answer: A license is issued for two years (2). To renew the license on active status the licensee must complete all educational requirements on or before the last day of their current license term. However, Champions has 30 days to report credit to FREC’s secure portal or the day before the license is due to expire, whichever comes first.
Question: How is my credit reported to the Florida Real Estate Commission?
Answer: Upon you passing the final exam with an 80% or higher, Champions School of Real Estate will report your course credit to FREC through their secure education portal.
Question: Can a continuing education course I take be denied?
Answer: Our courses are approved by FREC to fulfill your continuing education requirements.
- Our course abides by FREC rules requiring content to focus on real estate issues relevant to the modern practice of real estate by a real estate licensee, including technology used in the real estate industry.
- If you took a course elsewhere, you should contact that school or FREC.
Question: When do licensees renew their license?
Answer: Florida real estate license renewals renew either on March 31st or September 30th.
Question: Can hours be taken anytime?
Answer: Yes. Continuing Education hours may be taken any time during their 2 year license term.
- Please note that Florida license renew either on March 31st or September 30th and the renew fee and course(s) must be paid/taken prior to or on the license renewal date.
- Keep in mind that the schools will need time to post your education if you are taking the course(s) at the end of the month your license expires.
Question: What are the renewal fee’s for an Active Sales or Broker license types?
Answer: Renewal Fees:
- Sales Associate - $64.00
- Broker - $72.00
Question: How soon can I pay my renewal fees?
Answer: Renewal notices are sent to the licensee 90 days to the license expiration date. You may pay the renewal fee upon receipt.
Question: What are the continuing education requirements for an active or inactive sales associates licensee?
Answer: A minimum of 14 hours of commission-approved classroom instruction during each license renewal period (excluding the first renewal period of your current license when 45-hours of post-license education is required).
- A minimum of three of the 14 required hours must consist of the FREC-prescribed Core Law courses.
- The other 11 hours may consist of “specialty” courses on real estate practices approved by FREC.
- A licensee who takes the 3-hour Core Law course in each year of the renewal period is allowed a total of 6 hours toward the 14-hour requirement. In such event, the “specialty” course hours need total only 8 hours.
Question: What are the continuing-education requirements for an active or inactive broker licensee?
Answer: You must take a minimum of 14 hours of commission-approved classroom instruction during each license renewal period (excluding the first renewal period of your current license when 60 hours of post-license education is required.)
- A minimum of three of the 14 required hours must consist of the commission-prescribed Core Law.
- The other 11 hours may consist of “specialty” courses on real estate practices approved by the Commission.
- A licensee who takes the 3-hour Core Law course in each year of the renewal period shall be allowed a total of 6 hours toward the 14-hour requirement. In that case, the “specialty” course hours need total only 8 hours.
Question: What do I need to know about license reactivation?
Answer: If you hold an involuntarily inactive license, you should complete the 28 hour reactivation education within two years of the first day you failed to hold a valid and active license. After the second year, the broker’s or sales associate’s right to reactivate automatically expires.
- If the time elapsed is less than one year, the reactivation requirement can be fulfilled by satisfactorily completing 14 hours of continuing education as described in Rule 61J2-3.009.
- If time elapsed is more than 12 months but less than 24 months, the requirement is 28 hours of prescribed classroom hours of the prerequisite course for licensure as a salesperson.
- The subjects emphasized are real estate law and license law, and a 70% grade on the end-of-course exam is required to pass.
Question: What happens if I fail to pay my renewal on time?
Answer: Any license that is not renewed at the end of the license period shall automatically revert to involuntarily inactive status. The license may subsequently be renewed only if the licensee meets the other qualifications specified by FREC rules.
Question: Can I take “specialty” continuing education courses until they add up to 45 or 60 hours to fulfill the post-licensing requirements for sales associates or brokers?
Answer: No. Post-license courses for brokers and sales associates are specifically approved for that purpose and designed to build on knowledge acquired during the pre-licensing education courses. A sales associate or broker’s license is provisional until completing the post-license education requirement.
Question: Does FREC have Reciprocity for nonresident continuing education?
Answer: FREC has mutual recognition agreements with: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Mississippi, Nebraska, and Oklahoma.
Question: How is residency established?
Answer: A person who has continuously resided in Florida for a period of 4 calendar months or more, with the preceding one year. The place or base of residence may be a recreational vehicle, hotel, rental unit, or any other temporary or permanent situs.
A person who presently resides and intents to continuously resided in Florida for a period of 4 months or more, commencing on the date that the person began the current period of resident. The place or base of residence may be a recreational vehicle, hotel, rental unit, or any other temporary or permanent situs.
Question: Who offers the State and National Examination in Florida?
Answer: The examination is given by Pearson Vue.
Question: How do I make an appointment for electronic fingerprinting at one of the Florida electronic fingerprinting sites and are there any restrictions?
Answer: Applicants can use any Livescan vendor that has been approved by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement to submit their fingerprints to the department.
- Please ensure that the Originating Agency Identification (ORI) number is provided to the vendor when you submit your fingerprints.
- If you do not provide an ORI number or if you provide an incorrect ORI number to the vendor, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation will not receive your fingerprint results.
- The applicant is fully responsible for selecting the vendor and ensuring submission of the prints to the department.
Question: Where can I obtain my Originating Agency Identification (ORI) number for fingerprinting?
Question: When should I submit my fingerprints if I am applying for a license?
Answer: We suggest that you submit your fingerprints using a Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) approved Livescan Device Vendor at least 5 days prior to submitting your application for licensure.
- This will allow sufficient time for FDLE to process your fingerprints and submit the results to the Department.
- If your fingerprint results are not received by the Department at the time your application is being processed, your application will be deemed incomplete.
Question: Where can I obtain my Originating Agency Identification (ORI) number for fingerprinting?
Question: Where can I find a list of Livescan Device Vendors?
Question: What happens if I fail my state real estate exam?
Answer: The applicant can reschedule with the testing vendor until the education or authorization for exam has expired; there are separate expiration dates for your education and your authorization for exam.
- An authorization to take the exam is good for two (2) years from the date a complete application is approved.
- The education is good for two (2) years from the completion date shown on your completion slip.
Question: If I fail the salesperson’s post-license course exam, can I re-take the exam?
Answer: Yes. Students failing a post-licensing education examination must wait at least 30 days but no more than one year from the date of the original examination to retake the examination. Only one retake is permitted. Otherwise, students who fail the end of course post-licensing examination must repeat the course before being eligible to again take the course examination.
Question: What is a Broker associate?
Answer: This person qualified to be issued a license as a broker but operates as a sales associate in the employ of another.
Question: What is a Sales associate?
Answer: This person performs any act specified in the definition of “Broker,” but performs such act under the direction, control, or management of another person.
Question: What is a Single Agent?
Answer: A broker who represents, as a fiduciary, either the buyer , a seller, or both, in a real estate transaction.
Question: What happens if I do not complete the sales associate’s 45-hour post-license education requirement before the expiration of my initial sales associates license?
Answer: Your license becomes void, and you have to retake the pre-license course, pass its exam, and retake the state exam. In effect, you have to start from scratch.
Question: What happens if I do not complete the broker’s 60-hour post-license education requirement before the expiration of my initial broker’s license?
Answer: Your license reverts to a sales associate’s license.
Question: What is the passing percentile of Sales Associate and Broker examination?
Answer: A candidate who receives a grade of 75 points or higher will have successfully completed the examination. Exams are graded on the basis of 100 points for a perfect examination. For additional information go to: http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/servop/testing/booklets.html
Question: How long are the examination results valid?
Answer: The application is good for two years from the date received. Once an application is approved and your status reads “Exam Eligible” your authorization to take the exam is good for two years from the date the application is approved.
Question: Is a course final exam required?
Answer: Yes, a student must successfully complete an examination covering the course content for prelicense, postlicense or distance education courses.
Question: What is required to become a Sales Associate or a Broker-Sales Associate?
- AGE: Must be at least 18 years of age.
- SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: You must have a United States Social Security number to apply. You may visit the Social Security Administration website for information on how to obtain one.
- EDUCATION: Must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- PRE-LICENSE EDUCATION: Prior to sitting for the state exam you must show proof of course completion of Florida approved 63 hour pre-license education for sales associates.
- The course is good for two (2) years from the date of completion.
- An expired course will not be accepted at the exam site and you will not be able to sit for your exam without proof of a valid course completion slip.
- The course is not required at the time of application submission. You may submit application for state exam approval prior to taking the pre-license education.
- See the list of approved providers.
- EXAMINATIONS: The examination is given by Pearson Vue.
- To Learn more visit their website to find a location near you to set up your exam once the application has been approved by the DBPR.
- The Candidate Information Booklet is a useful source to help guide you through the examination process.
- FEE: The fee is $89 which can be paid either by using our Online Services or by personal check or money order.
- FINGERPRINTS: An applicant must have a background check as part of the licensing process. To learn more about fingerprinting, please visit our fingerprint FAQs on FREC website.
- APPLICATION: From the initial application web page, complete the application by clicking on the “Online Services” link or the “Printable Application” link at the bottom of the page.
Question: What is the difference between a licensee and a realtor?
Answer: Both obtained real estate licenses through the state process; however, in order for a licensee to use the “realtor” logo, the licensee must belong to the Realtor organization NAR®. This designation is over and above the obtaining of a real estate license; however, it is not state required.