It's a great time to begin a career in building inspection. Nearly 150,000 jobs in the home inspection business will be created over the next decade.

Given the many advantages of the career − professional independence, high earning potential, steady income, and more − it's an appealing path to take. But how much will it cost to get started?

In this article, we'll break down the costs of getting licensed. By the end, you'll be well on your way to becoming a professional inspector.

Steps Cost
1. Pre-licensing education $2999
2. Application & recovery fund $130
3. Fingerprinting & background check $38.25
4. National/state exam $199
TOTAL $3366.25


To acquire a home inspector license in Texas, you must complete 110 national education hours and 84 state education hours for a total of 194 hours. The requirements are as follows:

110 National education hours

  • (40 hr) Property and Building Inspection Module I
  • (40 hr) Property and Building Inspection Module II
  • (20 hr) Analysis of Findings and Reporting
  • (10 hr) Business Operations and Professional Responsibilities Module

84 State education hours

  • (40 hr) Texas Practicum
  • (24 hr) Texas Standards of Practice Module
  • (20 hr) Texas Law Module

At Champions School of Real Estate, the price of $2999 covers the above classes in an online course format plus an exam prep course. The State of Texas does not require this course, but it is highly recommended, as it greatly increases your chance of passing the exam.

One benefit of the Champions program is the 40-hour practicum. This course provides hands-on inspection training, which fulfills the state requirement and prepares you for the field.

Application fee

Upon completion of the pre-licensing courses, you will mail an application, your certificates of completion, and the application fee to the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC). The application, which you can find on the TREC website, includes a $120 fee.

You must also pay a recovery fund fee to acquire your inspection certification. This fee is due after you pass the exam and costs $10.

Fingerprinting and background check

To earn your professional inspector license, you will need to prove that you have no serious criminal history and high ethical standards. You must file your fingerprints with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).

The background check fee is $38.25. It covers processing and procedural costs.

National/state home inspector exam

To become a home inspector in Texas, you must take the national/state exam through Pearson VUE. The test consists of:

  • 230 Total questions
  • 200 National
  • 30 State

To pass, you must score at least a 63% on the national section and a 75% on the state section. If you fail, you may retake the test up to three times before you must apply again. There is no waiting period between attempts.

The test, which lasts up to 4.75 hours, costs $199. This fee covers proctoring, grading, and testing materials.

NOTE: It is highly recommended that you take the Home Inspection Exam Prep course. Students who take this course are much more likely to pass the exam.

Now's the time

For just a little over $3k, you can unlock a new, exciting path for yourself. Given that the top 10% of real estate inspectors makes over $100,000 per year, it's an investment well worth the money.

The demand for inspections has increased in recent years. More homebuyers are opting for inspections, and this trend is set to continue. With many inspectors reaching retirement age soon, this job will be in high demand for decades to come.

If you're interested in becoming a professional inspector, check out our Home Inspection page for more information. Champions School of Real Estate offers pre-licensing education, test prep, and continuing education to support you throughout your career.

Other Related Articles
How Much Money Do Real Estate
Agents Make?

With hard work, dedication, and education, the sky's the limit for earning potential.