Champions School of Real Estate now offers all 154 hours of appraisal qualifying education via the ChampionsLive virtual classroom. These education hours will satisfy the qualifying education requirements for a residential appraisal license in the state of Texas.

Benefits of the virtual classroom

The ChampionsLive virtual classroom allows you to access the benefits of in-person learning from the comfort of your home. In these virtual classes, you can ask questions in real time and interact with your instructor.

With busy schedules and long commutes, in-person classes sometimes aren't feasible. Enrolling in our ChampionsLive virtual classroom saves you the drive time and lets you complete your qualifying education from anywhere. Learn more about ChampionsLive here.

Does it apply to every state?

All courses in our 79-Hour Appraiser Supervisor Trainee Program and 75-Hour Licensed Residential Appraiser Upgrade Program, except the 4-hour Texas Appraising for the Supervisor and Trainee course, are available to residents of the following states: Arizona, California, Illinois, Maryland, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

If you are a resident of one of the states listed, please check your state-specific requirements. Most states have an individual requirement in addition to the nationally required courses.

Different license types?

ChampionsLive appraisal courses allow you to earn your licensed residential appraisal license. If you'd like to upgrade your license later on, you can enroll in our Certified Residential Appraiser Upgrade Program or our Certified General Appraiser Upgrade Program. To upgrade, call a counselor at your local campus.

A breakdown of appraisal license types:

  • Licensed Residential Appraiser: Can appraise non-complex properties valued under $1 million and complex 1–4 unit properties valued under $250k, with no commercial appraisals permitted. This is the level of licensure you'll receive when you complete the 154-hour qualifying education program through ChampionsLive. If you'd like to go beyond that, you can purchase an upgrade and seek an advanced license.
  • Certified Residential Appraiser: Can assess all 1–4 unit residential properties, irrespective of value and complexity, with commercial appraisals excluded.
  • Certified General Appraiser: Authorized to appraise all residential and commercial properties, regardless of value and complexity.

Each advanced license requires additional educational and experience hours. Read this detailed breakdown of how to become an appraiser to learn more.

Getting started

To begin your appraisal journey, you'll enroll in the 79-Hour Appraiser Supervisor Trainee Program. Upon finishing these courses, you can start your apprenticeship as an appraisal trainee, working under an experienced appraiser to gain hours of hands-on experience.

Completing these courses doesn't get you a license yet; rather, they're like prerequisite courses for the licensing program. Once done, you'll start your apprenticeship. Then, while you're a trainee, you'll join the 75-Hour Licensed Residential Appraiser Program.

Other Related Articles
How To Become a Real Estate Appraiser

Depending on the type of appraiser you want to become, your educational requirements will vary.