Renew My Expired License?
Sometimes an expiration can get away from you or you keep putting it off until its too late. Either way, the time has come to renew your license and you realize that it has already expired. Most of the time that does not mean you have to start over but frequently there are fines you will have to pay. As with any renewal, time is of the essence, so the sooner you renew your expired license the less you typically have to pay.
Expired Real Estate License
For an ACTIVE renewal of a license that has been expired 6 months or less:
For an ACTIVE renewal of a license that has been expired 6 months or less: A sales agent whose license has been expired not more than 6 months, who files an application to late renew on active status must pay the applicable renewal fee, have the CE hours completed, and file the RENEWAL OF REAL ESTATE LICENSE – TIMELY OR EXPIRED LESS THAN SIX MONTHS application. If the CE hours have been completed by the license expiration date, no additional fee will be due. If the hours are completed within 60 days of the license expiration date, a $200 CE deferral fee will be required. If the hours are completed between 61 – 180 days of the license expiration date, the deferral fee and the $250 late reporting fee (total $450) will be required. The license will not be renewed until all applicable fees are paid and the CE requirements for an active license have been satisfied.
For an INACTIVE renewal of a license that has been expired 6 months or less:
For an INACTIVE renewal of a license that has been expired 6 months or less: A license holder may file a late renewal application and renew a license on INACTIVE status without a lapse in INACTIVE licensure and without submitting CE. A license holder cannot engage in real estate activity with an inactive license.
Expired 6 months but less than 2 years:
A sales agent whose license has been expired more than 6 months but less than 2 years, who files an application to reinstate that license on active status, must complete the 18 hours in CE during the two year period prior to filing the Application for Reinstatement of a Sales Agent License or Broker license by an individual If the license is being renewed on inactive status, the CE is not required.
Please Note: If a broker's license expires or is placed on inactive status, all sales agents sponsored by that broker will be placed on inactive status.
Expired more than 2 years:
A sales agent whose license has been expired more than 2 years, must reapply for licensure. The applicant must meet sales agent application requirements (including education), file an original Application for Inactive Sales Agent License and pass the sales agent licensing exam.
Expired Residential Mortgage Loan Originator License
The renewal period for a Texas Residential Mortgage Loan Originator is November 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013. If you have not completed the required 8 hours of CE and submitted the renewal paperwork then you will be considered late.
If you have not completed your renewal requirements by January 1, 2014 then you will need to:
- Take the appropriate 8 hour CE Late Renewal course
- Pay $250 Renewal Fee
- Pay $125 Reinstatement Fee
Expired Appraisal License
Licensed Appraiser's in Texas are required to complete 28 hours of Continuing Education every 2 years. If you have missed your renewal, be sure you renew as quickly as possible.
- Timely Renewal Fee - $295.00
- Expired 90 days or less - $442.50
- Expired more than 90 days but less than 6 months - $590.00
A license that has been expired more than 6 months can be reinstated by filing an initial application and satisfying whatever education, experience, and exam requirements are in place at the time they reinstate.
Expired Inspector License
Up to six months after license expiration, an individual can file another application for a license without having to re-take and pass the examination if the exam was passed within two years of the application filing date. However, additional education may be required.
A inspector license that has been expired more than two years will have to re-take exam.Read more on TREC's website here.