>       >       >    Steps to a Texas Brokers License

Effective September 1, 2017
Important Message Regarding Online/Correspondence Qualifying Education (QE) or Sales Apprentice Education (SAE) Courses

At 12:01am on September 1, 2017, all 30-hour Correspondence QE/SAE courses will be automatically updated to adhere to the new TREC Mandated course changes. Any course that you have not completed will be automatically transferred to the new version at 12:01am on 9/1/2017 and your previous progress will be lost. If you do not anticipate being able to complete a course prior to September 1st, we recommend waiting until after the change to start the course.

PLEASE NOTE - Any courses you have already completed WILL NOT BE EFFECTED.

The following courses will be effected by this update:

  • Principles of Real Estate 1
  • Principles of Real Estate 2
  • Law of Agency
  • Law of Contracts
  • Real Estate Finance
  • Promulgated Contract Forms
  • Real Estate Appraisal: Real Estate Appraisal Fundamentals
  • Real Estate Appraisal
  • Real Estate Appraisal: Real Estate Appraisal Procedures
  • Real Estate Brokerage
  • Real Estate Marketing: Commercial
  • Residential Inspection for Real Estate Agents
  • Real Estate Investments
  • Real Estate Law
  • Real Estate Marketing
  • Real Estate Math
  • Property Management
  • Real Estate Appraisal: Residential Sales Comparison & Income Approach

The new textbooks for all the 30-Hour Qualifying Education (QE) and Sales Apprentice Education (SAE) courses will be made available for you to download as a PDF in your account. All courses with non-PDF textbooks will use the current textbooks. If you would like a physical copy of the new textbooks, charges will apply.

Steps to a Texas Brokers License

Champions School of Real Estate Catalog

Are you an experienced Real Estate Salesperson who is looking to take your career to the next level? You can now earn your Texas Brokers License in 5 simple steps. Enroll today and start on the path to a career as a Real Estate Broker!

Step 1
Complete the required experience and take the required Texas broker license courses at Champions School of Real Estate®.

New 2012 Broker License Requirements

With a TREC-Approved college bachelors degree, you may only need 2 more 30-hour courses to satisfy the 900-hours to meet your Texas Brokers license education requirements.

  • 3600 Experience Points in 4 years of the last 5 years
    • 300 Points for each closed purchase or sale of a Single Family home
    • 450 points for each closed purchase or sale of an apartment complex (commercial) with 5 or more units
    • other Broker point opportunities available
  • 900 Total Education Hours
    • 270 Hours of core real estate courses
  • includes all the Core Texas Real Estate Courses taken to date
  • Prelicense and SAE courses count here
  • 630 Hours of Classroom hours in related courses
    • A college Bachelors degree will count for 630 hours towards your Brokers license
    • CE courses count here
  • One Texas Real Estate Brokerage course - 30-Hours [Completed not more than two (2) years before application date]

Without TREC-Approved college bachelors degree, you need to have a total of 900 course hours. All previous Texas Real Estate courses will count towards your 900 hours. 21 Texas Real Estate Brokers 30-hour courses are available in the Classroom, Correspondence, and Online-Correspondence formats and discounted program pricing is available.


Click Here to Request a Broker Plan of Attack

Are you a licensed Real Estate Salesperson who is interested in pursuing your Brokers license?
Request a Broker Plan of Attack today.

Step 2
Submit your Application for Brokers license and Educational Documents to the "Online Services" system.

Once you have completed your courses at Champions, you will now need to submit your education and brokers application to TREC in the "Online Services" system on the Texas Real Estate Commission’s website at https://mylicense.trec.texas.gov. Click on "Register HERE to get a user ID" and follow the steps to create an account. Once an account is created you will apply for a new license. The application fee for a Real Estate Brokers license is $305.

If you have college credit or a college degree, you will need to scan and send in your education documents via fax copies of them to 512-936-3864.

Step 3
Take the Real Estate Exam Prep Class at Champions School of Real Estate®

While your application is being evaluated, we strongly recommend that you complete the Brokers state Prep course to ensure you are ready for the State Exam. This class takes the guess work and stress out of testing and you may repeat the course as many times as you want for free up to a full year!

Step 4
Receive Your Letter from the State & Take the State Exam at Pearson Vue.

Once you receive your approval letter and the "Candidate Information Brochure" (CIB) from TREC, you must schedule to take your exam with Pearson Vue. Appointments can be made by calling (800) 997-1248 or visiting ww.pearsonvue.com/tx/realestate/. The cost is $54 payable to Pearson Vue. You must pass the exam with a 75% or higher and you will know if you have passed the exam before you leave the testing center. NOTE: You must pass the state exam within 12 months of the application approval.

About the State Exam
Similar to the salesperson exam, the texas real estate brokers state exam is divided into two sections, National and State, and will consist of 120 questions (80 National / 40 State) with a total of 4 hours to complete the exam. You will know if you have passed the exam before you leave the testing center.

Step 5
Wait for license to arrive.

You cannot practice real estate as a Texas Real Estate Broker until you have received a physical copy of your brokers license.