4 Steps to a Texas Real Estate License
Estimated time to Complete: 3 - 6 Weeks
The following 6 courses are required by TREC for anyone who seeks to earn a Texas Real Estate License:
- Principles I
- Principles II
- Law of Agency
- Law of Contracts
- Finance I
- Promulgated Contract Forms
Get started today by enrolling for one of our packages! Each package includes all 6 required courses, Exam Prep course, and flashcards!
Complete with the 6 TREC mandatory courses needed for pre-licensing education, the State Exam Prep Course, and our Real Estate Prep Flashcards. (LEARN MORE)
+ Business Etiquette
Complete with the 6 TREC mandatory courses needed for pre-licensing, state exam prep with flashcards, and our 2-day Business Etiquette Program. (LEARN MORE)
Our complete 9-course program includes the 6 TREC mandatory courses (180 hours), the State Exam Prep Course, and 90-hours of SAE courses.(LEARN MORE)
Estimated time to Complete: 7 - 10 Days for Approval
Once you have completed your courses at Champions, you will now need to submit your education and inactive salesperson application to TREC in the "My License" system on the Texas Real Estate Commission’s website at trec.texas.gov. Click on "Register HERE to set up a user ID and password" and follow the steps to create an account. Once an account is created you will apply for a new license. The application fee for a Real Estate Salesperson license is $163.
Be sure to submit all of your course completion certificates to TREC via Fax (preferred) or Email:FAX: 512-936-3863
Estimated time to Complete: 2 Days
While your application is being evaluated, we strongly recommend that you complete the state Prep course to ensure you are ready for the State Exam. This class takes the guess work and stress out of testing and you may repeat the course as many times as you want for free up to a full year!
Estimated time to Complete: 7 to 10 Days
Once you receive your approval letter and the "Candidate Information Brochure" (CIB) from TREC, you must schedule to take your exam with Pearson Vue. Appointments can be made by calling (800) 997-1248 or visiting www.pearsonvue.com/tx/realestate/. The exam fee is $54 and must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. You must pass the exam with a 70% or higher and you will know if you have passed the exam before you leave the testing center. NOTE: You must pass the state exam within 12 months of the application approval. Also, do not forget to download your FAST Print Pass http://www.trec.state.tx.us/FASTPass/ using the nine digit ID number from your award letter and get your finger prints done.
Your state exam is divided into two sections, National and State, and will consist of 110 questions (80 National / 30 State) with a total of 4 hours to complete the exam. You will know if you have passed the exam before you leave the testing center. If you have submitted your sponsorship form already, your license will be mailed to your sponsoring broker within 7-10 days of passing the exam. Otherwise, you will be considered "inactive" until you choose a broker and submit the Request to Sponsor Salesperson Applicant form.Ultimate Goal: Obtain your Real Estate Broker's License. By meeting these Texas real estate license requirements and taking your courses at Champions, you are already on your way!