Earn My Texas Real Estate License
Courses available in the classroom, through correspondence and through online-correspondence.
Estimated time to Complete:
3 - 6 Weeks
The following 6 courses are required by TREC for anyone who seeks to earn a Texas Real Estate License:
- Principles I
- Principles II
- Law of Agency
- Law of Contracts
- Finance I
- Promulgated Contract Forms
Get started today by enrolling for one of our packages! Each package includes all 6 required courses, Exam Prep course, and flashcards!
Complete with the 6 TREC mandatory courses needed for pre-licensing education, the State Exam Prep Course, and our Real Estate Prep Flashcards. (LEARN MORE)
+ Business Etiquette
Complete with the 6 TREC mandatory courses needed for pre-licensing, state exam prep with flashcards, and our 2-day Business Etiquette Program. (LEARN MORE)
Our complete 9-course program includes the 6 TREC mandatory courses (180 hours), the State Exam Prep Course, and 90-hours of SAE courses.(LEARN MORE)
Estimated time to Complete: 7 - 10 Days for Approval
Once you have completed your courses with Champions School of Real Estate, gather all of your course completion certificates and go to www.trec.texas.gov and click on My License Services (look for the image to the right at the top of the TREC page).
From there, follow the directions to sign up as a registered user and complete the application form. Pay the application fee of $163 and send the receipt along with your certificates of completion to firstname.lastname@example.org or via fax to 512-936-3863.
If you already have a sponsoring broker, have him or her sign the Broker Representation form, sign yourself and send along to TREC. This can be completed and sent to TREC at any time but you will not be able to gain your license until you have a sponsoring Broker.
Estimated time to Complete: 2 Days
Once you have submitted your application to TREC, it can take as long as four weeks for them to review your application and education. At this time sign up to take your prep course. You will be able to repeat the prep course again if you are not prepared or if you’d like a refresher before taking the state and national exams.
Estimated time to Complete: 7 to 10 Days
Once you receive the approval letter from TREC, you will have to sign up to the state exam at a Pearson Vue Testing Center. You can do so by going to pearsonvue.com/tx/realestate/ or call them at 800-997-1248. The exam fee is $54 and must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. You must pass both exams with at least a 70% to obtain your license.
At this time, you will also have to get fingerprinted. Fingerprints can be taken at some of the Pearson Vue testing centers or find a location near you by clicking here.
Once you pass your exams, post the information to our Facebook page to let us know! Your sponsoring Broker will be the one to receive the license in the mail. If you do not have a sponsoring broker at that time, TREC will hold onto your license until you find one.
New agents are required to complete additional hours of Salesperson Annual Education (SAE) by the time that their license expires for the first time.
Depending on when you received your license, SAE requirements will be different.
If you gained your license BEFORE September 1, 2012, you will be required to complete two 30-hour core courses by the end of your first year of being licensed. You cannot repeat any courses you have already taken.
If you gained your license ON or AFTER September 1, 2012, you will be required to complete three 30-hour core courses by the end of your second year of being licensed.
Be sure to submit all of your course completion certificates to TREC via Fax (preferred) or Email: