>           >      How Do I Earn My Texas Loan Originator License?
How Do I...

Become a Loan Originator?

Step 1
Create an NMLS Individual User Account at www.StateRegulatoryRegistry.org/NMLS

Setup your username and password. Be Sure to bring your NMLS number to class.

Step 2
Complete the required 23-Hour SAFE Comprehensive Courses at Champions School of Mortgage Lending®
Students who apply for their LO License with NMLS will be required to complete 20 Hours SAFE Comprehensive Mortgage Loan Originator Fundamentals, 3-Hour TX-SML SAFE: Texas Law and Practice, and pass the National Test Component with USC (Uniform State Content). We offer a package containing everything necessary to satisfy these requirements.
Get Started Today

Texas 23-Hour Loan Originator
License Program

Includes 20-Hour SAFE Comprehensive Mortgage Loan Originator Fundamentals, 3 Hour TX-SML SAFE Texas Law and Practice, National Test Component with Uniform State Content Exam Prep, and Flashcards. (LEARN MORE)
$475
Save $45
Enroll in the Texas 23-Hour Loan Originator License Program

Texas 23-Hour Loan Originator License Program

ABOUT THIS PROGRAM:

Becoming a Mortgage Loan Originator was never so easy!  Meet both the National and Texas state requirements for a Residential Mortgage Loan Originator license. Get SAFE and be prepared to take the state and national exams without worry.  This program includes the tools you need to learn all about becoming a loan originator including federal and state laws, ethics and non-traditional mortgage products plus the prep you need to pass your exams.

Program OUTLINE:
  • 20-hour SAFE course covering national and state law, ethics and more
  • 3-Hour Tx-SML SAFE: Texas Law and Practice
  • Two day national exam prep course and mock exam
  • One day state exam prep and mock exam
  • Study flashcards

Step 3
Register for our Loan originator Exam PREP course - National Test Component with USC

Register for our 3-day Loan originator Exam PREP course. Remember, once you pay the initial fee for the PREP you may re-take our PREP as many times as you want at no charge for one year!

Step 4
Register and pass with a 75% or higher, the NMLS National Test Component with Uniform State Content Exam ($110)

There is a 30-day waiting period for exam retakes. If you do not pass after two retakes, there is a 6-month waiting period. A test enrollment must be requested and paid for in NMLS. The Test Enrollment function can be found under the Professional Requirements/Testing selection tab in NMLS after your MU4 log in.

National Test Component with Uniform State Content consists of 125 multiple choice questions. Timed 190 minutes.

To enroll for an exam, please contact one of the test vendors below.

Prometric www.prometric.com/nmls 1-877-671-6657
Step 5
Submit MU4 Form to the National Licensing System as well as the Criminal Background Check, Fingerprints, and Credit Report Request.

Submit the MU4 Form through the NMLS website www.stateregulatoryregistry.org/NMLS. Through the MU4 log in - select Filing/Individual. The MU4 filing fee is $30. The application fee will vary by license type. Applicants are required to request a Criminal Background Check ($39) and the Credit Report Request function ($15).

Champions School of Real Estate Testimonials